Black Bean Quesadilla Recipe from “Healthy, Tasty, Affordable Latin Cooking”

I did a survey the other day for members of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics  (AND)  that asked how I felt about the fact that AND has sponsors like the Coke and Hershey’s.

My answer: I don’t love it, but it brings in money which means AND is able to pass along more benefits like continuing education to me so I can become a better dietitian. In turn, I am able to better help you improve your nutrition to help you become a healthier, happier person.

They also asked if having these sponsors made me more likely to recommend their products.

I can honestly say the answer to this is no – although I realize that’s not what they want to hear. The reason I’m not more likely to recommend their products is that I very rarely recommend any specific brand or product unless it’s something that really stands out.

Well, I’ve recently noticed one such company’s products while strolling the aisles of the grocery store. I don’t even think this company sponsors AND so don’t worry, I haven’t been brain-washed into liking them. Okay, here goes nothing!

Goya Foods

Goya is America’s largest Hispanic-owned food company and they offer products such as beans, rice,  fruit beverages, and condiments that are perfect for Latin recipes. I recently discovered that their Low-Sodium Black Beans contain half the sodium of the brand I used to buy!

But I’ll be honest, the thing that made me think Goya is awesome is actually their packaging.

They are the only company that I’ve seen that features the MyPlate icon on some of their product labels.

Goya and MyPlate

I think that MyPlate is fancy and I think that more Americans would be healthier if they were aware of MyPlate.

Pssst! Go tell the first person you see about MyPlate!

Well anyway, it turns out that Goya teamed up with the First Lady’s LetsMove initiative and the USDA to launch a MyPlate/ MiPlato cookbook called Healthy, Tasty, Affordable Latin Cooking.

Healthy, Tasty, Affordable Latin Cooking

Goya MyPlate Cookbook

The cookbook features 10 complete, balanced meal ideas packed with 30 healthy Latin inspired recipes.

Think Avocado and Grapefruit Salad, Argentinean Grilled Steak , Pumpkin Flan, and so much more.

On second though, try not to think about it until dinner time.

Each of the meals incorporates all five basic food groups (fruits, vegetables, grains, protein and dairy) for a healthy, well-rounded diet.

As an added bonus, the cookbook also includes nutritional information for every recipe, easy-to-follow cooking tips, and estimated costs for each meal.

It just so happens that Goya is providing cookbooks for three lucky winners of the Black Bean Eat Me Quiz so if you haven’t done it, go ahead and get your name in there.

Even if you don’t win, you can actually download a free PDF of Healthy, Tasty, Affordable Latin Cooking.

Just to give you a taste of what’s inside, here is the Black Bean Quesadilla recipe from the cookbook.

Black Bean Quesadillas

Black Bean Quesadilla

Makes 8 Servings
Prep time: 5 min.
Total time: 15 min.

Ingredients:
¾ cup GOYA Pico de Gallo (I would probably use home-made)
1 can (15.5 oz.) GOYA Low Sodium Black Beans, drained and rinsed
½ cup shredded reduced fat Colby & Monterey Jack cheese
2 tbsp. finely chopped fresh cilantro
4 8″ GOYA Flour Tortillas (I usually prefer the healthier corn or whole wheat options, but there is actually something I like about flour tortillas with quesadillas)
½ tsp. GOYA Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Directions:
1. Using small-hole strainer, drain liquid from Pico de Gallo; discard liquid. Transfer leftover tomato mixture to medium bowl. Mix in black beans, cheese and cilantro until combined.
2. Divide black bean mixture evenly over half of each tortilla (about ½ cup each). Fold tortillas in half.
3 Heat large griddle or skillet over medium-high heat. Brush with oil. Place filled tortillas on griddle. Cook, carefully flipping once, until tortillas are golden brown and crisp and cheese filling melts, about 5 minutes. Cut quesadillas into wedges.

Nutrition:
Serving Size: ½ quesadilla
170 Calories
5g Fat (2.5g Saturated, 0g Trans); 10mg Cholesterol; 21g Carbohydrate; 0g Sugar; 9g Protein; 4g Fiber; 470mg Sodium

The Black Bean Quesadilla is part of the Week Night Chicken Dinner – check out this description from Goya:

Enjoy a wholesome dinner, any night of the week! Here, chicken breasts are infused with healthy flavor thanks to fresh herbs and lemon juice. Serve with a side of vegetarian quesadillas and brown rice and vegetables, featuring whole grain GOYA® Brown Rice. We suggest a piece of fruit for dessert.

The whole dinner, featuring all five food groups, comes out to less than $3.50 per serving.

I’m drooling.

I think I’m making black bean quesadillas and salad for dinner. What’s your dinner plan?

Disclaimer:  The kind people at Goya Foods have offered to donate a prize for the Black Bean Eat Me Quiz. However, I was not compensated for this post, all thoughts and opinions are my own. 

 

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. This looks delicious! I will definitely have to try it! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  2. I love the addition of black beans into the quesadilla! AND pico de gallo!? YUMMY!
    http://www.peanutbutterandle.wordpress.com

    Reply
  1. Moving ~ Leave Actual FOOD for Thought ♡ |

What's on your mind?

  • Follow to receive email notifications of new posts.

  • Follow Me on Twitter

  • Connect via Facebook

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • The Plate Community

    The Plate Community if full of nutrition experts, recipe gurus, and healthy eating champions who love to blog

  • Nutrition Blog Network

    Check out some of the other great blogs by Registered Dietitians

  • The Foodie Blog Roll
  • HealthFill

    The team at Health Fill combines web research with visitors’ tips to offer regularly updated health information. Check it out!