Canadian Word of the Month: Toque

Hello!

I was born and raised in Canada but have lived in the U.S. since 2007. People don’t usually notice my accent but discover I’m Canadian through words I use.

Since I think these are great words and strongly believe they should catch on, I thought it would be a good idea to provide you with a word per month education.

I won’t try to claim these words are everywhere in Canada or nowhere in the U.S. They are simply words that I use in everyday conversation, but that most Americans around me have never heard before.

Toque or tuque: a knit cap designed to keep your head and ears warm.

Toque

Americans often call them hats, toboggans, or beanies.

Let’s be clear. A toboggan is something you sit on to slide down a snowy hill. Not something you wear on your head.

Let’s chat: Do you use a word other than toque?
Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Toque! Love it 🙂 I’m Canadian too and that is the word for a winter hat on your head! A toboggan is most definitely something you slide down the hill on. Speaking of sliding…my husband and I had an “argument” about that term. I call it sliding, when you slide down the hill on a toboggan, crazy carpet, garbage bag, whatever. He seems to think it’s called sledding which I said is the term you use when snowmobiling. He disagreed. What do you think!?!

    Reply
    • Definitely sledding or tobogganing! Snowmobiling is a whole other thing that I might also call Ski-Dooing – just to make things more complicated 🙂

      Reply
  1. Canadian Word of the Month: Keener | ProjectEatMe

What's on your mind?

