Food and Nutrition Conference, Day 3

Good evening!

In case you missed my post yesterday, I’m at FNCE, a huge and fantastic food and nutrition conference in Houston, TX, and I wanted to share some of my experiences with you.

So.

After two Starbucks skim Salted Caramel Mochas (shh, don’t tell the other dietitians) and a long day of meetings with the SCAN executive committee, I headed to the conference’s opening session.

Opening Session

It was a really cool T-shaped auditorium and I ended up sitting on the side and toward the back…I could see 3 teleprompters from where I was.

One of my favorite quotes from the sessions was: “We all need help. Where would Ben be without Jerry?”

Ladies Room

Turns out that when you have a dietitian conference, the city’s female population doubles and they convert most of the men’s washrooms to ladies’ rooms.

This came in handy after my two salted caramel mochas.

Cori and I

I met up with a friend from my dietetic internship who joined us for dinner.

Note to self: This pants, socks, and shoes combination does not work.

East End Street Fest

We got dinner recommendations from the concierge at a random hotel and decided to walk to Ninfa’s, a local Tex-Mex restaurant. Turns out that Ninfa’s is on the other side of the tracks so the walk was full of character. We even came across a big street festival that was finishing up for the day but was still full of dancing and excitement.

East End Dancer

Sure, taking a taxi would have been an option, but then we would have missed out on this!

Dinner was delicious and now I am ready for bed – breakfast tomorrow is at 6:45 sharp.

One year I’ll have enough energy to get up early and style my hair in something other than a ponytail.

Good night!

Diana

Leave a comment

What's on your mind?

