Food and Nutrition Conference, Day 1-2

Hi all,

I realize I haven’t posted for a while. Life has not been very conducive to blogging.

But I’m at an amazing conference in Houston this weekend called the Food and Nutrition Conference and Expo, or FNCE for short. It’s an event for Registered Dietitians and students from across the country and around the world to meet up and exchange ideas.

This is my fourth time attending FNCE and I have had nothing but good experiences and sleep deprivation. I’m sure this year will be no different.

I thought I’d share some of my experiences with you here.

I arrived Thursday afternoon and met my fancy friend Kimberly at the airport (our flights arrived one minute apart from each other). We took a Super Shuttle to our hotel, the Club Quarters and had to spend a bit of time hanging out in the lobby while they got our room ready. Turns out that there is a coffee machine that makes espresso, cappuccino, lattes, and plain coffee. I will take advantage of this!

Snack Bar

I’m pretty sure you can’t have a cappuccino without chocolate dipped biscotti, so thankfully they had those too.

Nuts

They also had an assortment of nuts, candies, banana chips, and wasabi peas to keep me from getting cranky before dinner.

Wine

Dinner was at a local dietitian’s beautiful home. We had fajitas and lots of heart-healthy red wine.

Bathroom Reading

You know you’re at a dietitian’s house when the bathroom reading is the Tuft’s Health and Nutrition Letter.

SCAN Pre-FNCE Workshop

Friday was a jam-packed full of educational sessions at the Pre-FNCE SCAN-Houston Workshop. Presentations touched on treatment of critically ill eating disorder patients, complicated nutrition and hydration issues in athletes, use of corporate wellness as a business sustainability strategy, and cutting edge research in heart disease prevention.

Diana Leah Wilson, MS, RD, LDN

Since I’m the Director of Communications for SCAN, I got to wear a fancy flair ribbon on my badge.

Can you believe this picture was taken in a hospital? Memorial Herman – Texas Medical Center is beautiful!

William Baun

William B. Baun, President of the National Wellness Institute, explained why wellness needs to become a “viral thing” spreading throughout the workplace.

Joseph Chorley

Josepth N. Chorley, MD argued that you’ve got to know nutrition when you take care of athletes.

Stephano Sdringola

Stephano Sdringola, MD, MHA talked about the CENTURY Health study as a strategy to help people to live longer, meaningful and healthy lives. He also entertained us with some humorous slides: “Chicken for breakfast, chicken for lunch, chicken for dinner. What do you expect?”

Dan Riley

Dan Riley, retired NFL strength and conditioning coach, knows his stuff when it comes to strength training. But he also says “If you don’t have an RD after your name, then you don’t know what you don’t know (about nutrition).”

Three more sessions talked about treatment of critically ill eating disorder patients but I didn’t get any good pics to share. After the workshop, I took the train back to the hotel and we wandered around downtown Houston looking for snacks since the ones in our hotel are not available Friday afternoons. We eventually ended up at a tapas restaurant where we shared a table (and food) with a few other dietitians. Off to bed so I can get through another day tomorrow!

G’night!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

What's on your mind?

