Fancy Salad Combinations

So I was going to post a blueberry banana bread recipe today.

I had a plan.

But my camera decided it didn’t like me so it’s off being repaired and I am without enough photos to share a recipe with you.

But that’s okay!

Because it’s National Salad Week so I put together this cool little table to inspire you to get creative and make some tasty salads this week.

Fancy Salad Combinations

Fancy Salad Combinations from ProjectEatMe

Get the Printable Version Here

You can pick one ingredient from each category, or you can choose multiple from some categories and none from the others. There are no real rules other than that your salad should have more veggies than other ingredients and you should try to include some protein, crunch, or fat.

Here are a few combos you could try:

  • Spinach, basil, red bell pepper, blueberries, hazelnuts, goat cheese
  • Field greens, cucumber, capers, oregano, red and yellow bell peppers, kalamata olives, tomato, feta, salsa, cheddar cheese
  • Mixed greens, pear, dried cherries, chicken, walnuts, gorgonzola.
Tell me: What’s your favorite salad ingredient or salad combo?
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. This is such an amazing idea. I’m usually generally creative when it comes to cooking, but I have a major chef’s block when in comes to salads. Thank you for this.

    Reply
  2. I like the combos but what can I as a substitute for cheese since I am lactose?

    Reply
    • If you are lactose intolerant, you can try using only a small amount of cheese, substituting soy cheese, taking lactase to help with digestion, or just leave out the cheese. It all depends on how your body responds to different options.

      Reply
  3. Brilliant! I’ll have to post that on my fridge for inspiration! My favourite salad has roasted butternut pumpkin, dried cranberries, and danish feta… loosely based on this recipe:
    http://www.twopeasandtheirpod.com/maple-roasted-butternut-squash-apple-salad/

    Reply

What's on your mind?

