Weekend Reading: Mushroom Growing, Obesity as a Disease, Supplement Labels, College Weight Gain

Hi all,

Just stopping in to say happy Friday.

Here is something you need to know about me:

If I’m not doing at least 2 things at a time, I get bored.

So when I run on the treadmill, I need to be reading or studying, or watching TV or something. The treadmills at my gym have a screen that is hooked up to DirectTV so I could definitely watch anything I wanted.

But I also discovered that they have a solitaire game built-in.

And it is hard!

And that’s not even taking into account that I am bouncing around trying not to fall off. Or the fact that it’s touch screen and sweat doesn’t play well with touch screen. That really adds to the degree of difficulty!

Anyway, I finally won a game a few weeks back so I had to snap a pic to share with you guys!

Treadmill Solitaire

Sorry I didn’t get a chance to post since last week – I’ve been very busy working on a few cool projects. One of the things I’m working on is creating a toolkit that teaches people ways to celebrate Halloween in a less unhealthy way. I’d love to hear any ideas you have!

I do have a couple of things to share with you for the weekend so check it out and let me know what you think.

Stuff to read

Try It Out Thursday: Grow Your Own Mushrooms from Dine Dash & Deadlift
Remember back in April when we spent the month focusing on the awesomeness of mushrooms? At the end of the month I hosted a giveaway and Tanya won a mushroom growing kit provided by The Mushroom Channel. She wrote a blog post about her experiences with the kit so check it out!

A.M.A. Recognizes Obesity as a Disease from the New York Times
The American Medical Association has officially recognized obesity as a disease, a move that could induce physicians to pay more attention to the condition and spur more insurers to pay for treatments. It’s about time!

The Mother of All Ingredients Lists from Natural Products Insider
The NIH has created an online, searchable Dietary Supplement Label Database that includes ingredients, directions, health claims and warnings gleaned from labels on more than 17,000 supplements. Good to know but the info comes from the dietary supplement labels which may not meet FDA regulations.
Here’s the link to the database.

Women Fret More Over Weight Gain in College from HealthDay
Gals worry more about it but college weight gain can be a problem for guys too.

Twitter favorites

Did you learn or do anything cool this week?
Leave a comment

What's on your mind?

