10 Red Flags of Bad Diets

Hey you!

So when I took my first nutrition class back in the 1800s, one of the first things we learned was the 10 Red Flags of Junk Science.

The 10 Red Flags of Junk Science from https://projecteatme.wordpress.com/

This list is all over the web and many give credit to the Food and Nutrition Science Alliance for coming up with the list, although as far as I can tell this group no longer exists.

At any rate, I think they apply really well to fad diets so check these out and use them when you are thinking about whether a given diet or health product is right for you:

The 10 Red Flags of Bad Diets

  1. Recommendations that promise a quick fix. (Lose 10 pounds in the first week without diet or exercise!)
  2. Dire warnings of danger from a single product or regimen. (Coffee causes psychotic episodes!)
  3. Claims that sound too good to be true. (Change your body overnight, change your body for life!)
  4. Simplistic conclusions drawn from a complex scientific study. Usually findings from a complex study bring up the need for more research into certain areas brought to light by the limitations of the original study.
  5. Recommendations based on a single study. One study is almost never enough to draw conclusions from.
  6. Dramatic statements that are refuted by reputable scientific organizations. (Everyone agrees that this diet is great … but please don’t check what these guys have to say!) Extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence.
  7. Lists of “good” and “bad” foods. (No pasta allowed!)
  8. Recommendations made to help sell a product. (Just take a pill – but not those other impure ones, only ours are pure!)
  9. Recommendations based on studies published without peer review. This undermines the scientific process.
  10. Recommendations from studies that ignore difficulties among individuals or groups. (Everybody will lose weight!)
Have you seen a product or heard about a diet recently that raises any red flags?

 

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. healthiestbeauty

     /  April 18, 2013

    Reblogged this on The healthiest beauty.

    Reply
  2. I am happy my diet does not have any red flags; I use to have a diet were no pasta was allowed.. When I taste pasta again I ate to much so the diet was pointless.. Now I know most of these are not gimmicks…

    Reply
  3. This whole “paleo diet” fad. ANY diet that excludes food groups is A BAD IDEA if you ask me. Denial leads to failure. Just eat healthy. It’s that simple.

    Reply
  4. A friend tried to sell me on Take Shape for Life by Medifast. I went along with it for a month until I realized everything had fake potentially harmful sugars in it. I felt worried about using such a high volume of fake stuff for a long term solution as I have lots to lose and I was always hungry on it! I would say ingredients are an important red flag to be cautious of…

    Reply

What's on your mind?

