Mushroom Bulgogi Tacos: Food Truck in Your Kitchen

This post got a little ahead of itself and posted itself long before I was done writing it. Sorry about that.

Anyhow.

Who loves food trucks?

I think they’re pretty cool and there have been a lot of “food truck rodeos” around Raleigh lately.

Around here, there are a lot of pork barbecue food trucks but one of my favorite things about food trucks is that they often introduce us to new foods.

And one food truck food that has become really popular is the Korean-Mexican fusion bulgogi taco.

So here is my version of it, featuring the deliciously vegetarian mushroom!

Mushroom Bulgogi Taco from ProjectEatMe.wordpress.com

Mushroom Bulgogi Taco Recipe

Start with 8 ounces of mushrooms (I used brown button, but you could just as easily use white button or portabella.

Sliced Mushrooms

Slice them up – if they are small, just cut them in half.

Mushrooms in bag

Put them in a ziplock bag.

Brown Sugar

Add a tablespoon of brown sugar.

Soy Sauce

A tablespoon of low-sodium soy sauce.

Politely ask the cat to get off the counter.

Vino

A tablespoon of white wine.

They say to only cook with wine you would drink. Lucky for me, that means I cook with cheap wine.

Sesame Oil

Then add a tablespoon of sesame oil. You could use canola if you don’t have sesame.

Minced Garlic

Move back to the cutting board and massacre 3 garlic cloves. Add the garlic.

Minced Ginger

And then mince about a tablespoon of fresh ginger. You could use powdered ginger instead if that’s what you have on hand. Either way, add it to the baggie.

Marinading Mushrooms

Seal the bag. Shake it all about. Give it a little massage. Make sure everything gets good and friendly.

Leave it to marinade for 30 minutes to 3 hours – portabellas will need the most time.

Heat a skillet over medium heat – love my cast-iron skillet for things like this!

Pour in the contents of the baggie.

Yummy Mushrooms

Admire its beauty.

Question whether you know the difference between its and it’s anymore.

Try to resist sampling.

Mushroom Bulgogi Taco

Once the mushrooms start to brown, scoop them straight into your tortilla and garnish!

I used a 100% whole wheat tortilla and discovered that bowls work well for keeping soft tacos standing.

For garnish, I cut super thin slices of jalapeno and baby red and orange sweet peppers and put them in a bowl with a teaspoon of rice vinegar and a pinch of red pepper flakes to make a quick spicy and tangy relish. This was a great substitute for kimchi.

I also sprinkled on a few sesame seeds and some strips of basil, although I think I would have proffered cilantro if I had the choice.

This is a brand new creation so let me know what you think!
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. This looks really good, thanks for posting (love the pics) – I’m going to try this at the weekend. I also love the idea of the quick relish.

    Reply
  2. I bet those mushrooms would be so so good in a lot of recipes. Thinking as a side with some BBQ’s steaks, yum!

    Reply

What's on your mind?

