Weekend Reading: Helpful Diet Info, Fad Diets, Controversy

TGIF!

A friend sent this to me last weekend and it had me laughing my butt off!

Toy-filled chocolate egg approved for sale in US from confectionerynews.com
As someone who grew up with Kinder Surprises, this makes me happy 🙂

I hope you enjoy some of the other interesting stuff I came across this week too:

Helpful diet info

The Effortless Diet: Healthy Substitutions for the Most Unhealthy Cooking Ingredients from LifeHacker
It’s called being smart. I know you can do it!

Fad diets

I Tried Greta Garbo’s Strange, Horrifying Diet from NYmag
Fun read about old fad diets

Is Juicing a Healthy Diet Plan? from STACK
What do you think?

Rob Rhinehartl’s ‘No Eating’ Diet Probably Isn’t Such A Great Idea from Huffington Post
Learn how you too can live off of liquid sludge instead of delicious food

Controversy

Monster Energy adds caffeine content to labels from CNN
Monster has decided to sell it’s energy drinks as beverages, not supplements so they will not have to report adverse events to FDA BUT they will have to list caffeine content. Sounds like a dangerous loophole to me.

Biggest Loser Trainers Publicly Promote Diet And Exercise, Quietly Endorse Unproven Weight Loss Pills from ThinkProgress
Does Jillian really believe in hard work given that she’s making money off of people who want to take the easy way out?

Do you have any thoughts on any of these articles? What did you read this week? Let me know in the comments.
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. That video is great.

    Reply
  2. I’m a student in Dr. Yarrow’s Clinical 2, so you’ve probably been grading some of my case studies! I really like your blog! My sister-in-law recently got into juicing, so thanks for including your article “Is Juicing a Health Diet Plan?” so that I can share that info. with her. I actually plan on posting about the research on juicing soon on my blog (http://veganutritionist.com), so you’ll have to check it out!

    Reply

What's on your mind?

