Weekend Reading: College Prep, Gluten-Free Life, Bike Share Programs, Healthy and Not-So-Healthy Food

Happy Friday y’all!

Have you had a good week?

This is a picture of a set of bike racks in front of some restaurants near my home including Beasley’s Chicken and Honey. Wouldn’t you just love to park your bike there?

Cow, chicken, fox bike rack

I hope you enjoy some of these links as much as I enjoy these bike racks.

College Prep

Unprepared for College? from Fueled by LOLZ
Cool infographic. Are you among the 5/10 that can’t find Ohio on a map?

Gluten-free life

Gluten-Free, Whether You Need It or Not from the New York Times Well Blog
Celiac experts urge people to not self-diagnose with gluten-sensitivity. If people actually have celiac, tests to diagnose it become unreliable if one is not eating gluten. Experts also recommend visiting a doctor before starting on a gluten-free diet.

Bike share programs

Bike sharing goes big — but can it get over its little helmet problem? from Grist
Bike share programs are awesome but helmet laws sometimes cause problems. Seattle is thinking about checking out helmets along with the bikes.
And I love this comment: “However, there is no proposed solution to helmet hair. Maybe they could add hair-gel vending machines too?”

Healthy food

Show Some Love with these Healthy Valentine Desserts from Around the Plate
Some simple dessert ideas, many of which involve strawberries!

How to Prep Food on the Weekend from The Lean Green Bean
No time to cook during the week? Spend an hour on the weekend to get a bunch of stuff prepped.

Snacks to Sustain: Menu for a Late-Night Study Session with Friends from The Kitchn
Tasty, healthy snacks to get you through a cram session or late night of work. Homemade bubble tea anyone?

Not-so-healthy food

Fried Chicken And Sweet Tea: Recipe For A Stroke from NPR
Since I’ve moved to North Carolina, I’ve discovered that “chicken and waffles” actually do make sense together thanks to Beasley’s Chicken and Honey. But I know that I can’t eat like that everyday if I want to stay healthy! As the article says – “Maybe cut back a little bit, so you’re not eating that every day.”

Seriously, are you among the 5/10 that can’t find Ohio on a map?
Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Teddy

     /  May 31, 2013

    First off I would like to say wonderful blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your thoughts prior to writing.
    I’ve had a difficult time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out there. I do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips? Many thanks!

    Reply
    • Hi Teddy – what works best for me is just to sit down and start writing. I’m constantly making notes to myself and jotting down ideas so I will be ready when it’s time to write. I’m sure it’s different for everyone so you just have to figure out what works best for you. Good luck!

      Reply
  2. howtolosebellyfat.lo.gs

     /  June 18, 2013

    Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the info you present here and can’t wait
    to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyways, superb blog!

    Reply

What's on your mind?

