Black Beans

Happy New Year y’all!

I found an odd brownie recipe a while back and I’ve made it three times, each time making a few changes to get it just right. My husband enjoyed the first two batches, apparently having no clue what was in it.

When I whipped up a batch on New Year’s Eve, he cut them up to take over to a friend’s place to help celebrate.

As far as brownies go, they are freakishly healthy so I was pretty surprised when they turned out to be a huge hit! Several people asked for the recipe – repeatedly!

I’ll share the recipe with you later, but guess what the secret ingredient is?

Black Beans

Black beans!

Beans, beans, the musical fruit, the more you eat, the more you toot!

As I was doing some research to plan out a blog schedule for the year, I found out that January 6th is Bean Day.

So I thought I would give you some info to help you get ready to celebrate with me 🙂

Like most beans, black beans are sort of nutrition super stars!

What food group do black beans belong to?

Do you know the answer?

It’s a trick question.

½ cup of black beans is considered one serving and it counts as a vegetable OR as 2 ounce equivalents of protein foods.

As vegetables, they are high in fiber – but they are also high in protein.

Black Bean Nutrition Facts

As you can see, black beans are naturally low in calories, sodium, sugar, and fat, and are cholesterol-free.

But they are also fantastic sources of several key nutrients. Black beans are an excellent source of molybdenum, a very good source of fiber and folate, and a good source of manganese, protein, magnesium, thiamin, phosphorus, and iron.

Plain English Summary: Black beans are awesome!

What’s your favorite way to eat black beans? Leave a comment or tweet at me and I’ll share your recipe in a post later this month!
Next Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. My fave way to eat black beans is in lasagna. Might have to make up a pan after reading your blog- although I’m really excited about your brownie recipe! My fave recipe is actually from the Atco Blue Flame Kitchen:
    http://www.atcoblueflamekitchen.com/Recipes/Recipe-Box/BLACK-BEAN-LASAGNA

    Reply
    • I have never had black bean lasagna before but that definitely sounds like a good recipe for those that haven’t found a way to like black beans yet. It sounds like it has a bit of a Mexican flair to it too – thanks for sharing!

      Reply
  1. Folate and Folic Acid « ProjectEatMe
  2. Health Benefits of Black Beans? « ProjectEatMe
  3. Brownie Recipe Rehab « ProjectEatMe
  4. Buying, Storing, and Cooking Black Beans « ProjectEatMe
  5. Happy National Heart Month « ProjectEatMe
  6. Eat Right for Vegetarians | ProjectEatMe
  7. Happy Birthday MyPlate! | ProjectEatMe

What's on your mind?

