Adventures in Community Supported Agriculture: Smooth Garden Vegetable Soup

So I’ve been getting a CSA share fairly regularly as payment for volunteering on the Urban Roots farm.

Free vegetables!

Awesome!

But it’s sometimes a challenge to figure out what the vegetables are (I’ll save the story of garlic scapes for another day) and what to do with all of them – it’s a LOT of vegetables.

When I brought a bag full of veggies home from the farm with me today, I realized I had no space in the fridge for them, partly because I had old veggies still taking up space (some of which were several weeks old). So I decided to make an everything-but-the-kitchen-sink vegetable soup to clean out the fridge.

The Cast of Characters

Here are my old, tattered veggies. They’re a little grungy, but they clean up nicely.

The Plot

I started by chopping the onions (2 types) and leeks into large chunks and tossing them into 10 cups of simmering chicken broth.

I hardly ever cook with leeks but I wish I did it more often because they contain large amounts of a substance called kaempferol, which has been shown to help protect blood vessels from damage. Cool eh?

Then I scrubbed down, quartered, and tossed in the potatoes.

And the carrots. They’re shiny.

Then I chopped the fennel and re-rinsed it to get out the sand. Oh, and I tossed the fennel in the pot.

I threw in some chopped zucchini for good measure.

I cut all the ugly parts off of the cabbage, leaving a badly severed head of cabbage.

Which I then cut into thin strips and tossed into the pot.

Lastly, I sliced a couple of serrano peppers, seeds and all, to add a little heat.

I just chopped the veggies and added them to the pot as I went, so by the time I was done chopping, everything had softened up quite nicely. If you wanted to do something similar, you could really use any type and amount of any vegetables you have on hand – just clean ’em, chop ’em, and toss ’em in a huge pot of simmering broth. Since I wasn’t paying too much attention to size, I wasn’t going to be able to eat the soup as is so I grabbed my immersion blender. Whirrrrr.

And this is what I ended up with. It’s quite yummy and fresh tasting, though I could have lived without the serrano heat.

The Moral of the Story

Don’t put serrano peppers in your soup. If I knew then what I know now.

Also, eat your vegetables.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Are You Eating Your Veggies? | Julie's Fresh Air

What's on your mind?

